Friday, June 25, 2010

Your Food Pyramid

The Pyramid calls for eating a variety of foods to get the nutrients you need and at the same time the right amount of calories to maintain healthy weight.

Use the Pyramid to help you eat better every day.

Start with plenty of breads, cereals, rice, pasta, vegetables, and fruits. Add 2-3 servings from the milk group and 2-3 servings from the meat group. Remember to go easy on fats, oils, and sweets, the foods in the small tip of the Pyramid.

Be sure to eat the right number of servings from the five major food groups listed below. You need them for the vitamins, minerals, carbohydrates, and protein they provide.

1. Milk, Yogurt, and Cheese
2. Meat, Poultry, Fish, Dry Beans, Eggs, and Nuts
3. Vegetable
4. Fruit
5. Bread, Cereal, Rice, and Pasta

No comments:

Post a Comment